Mar 15, 2024 | News

Malawi’s national football team head coach, Patrick Mabedi, has announced a 32-member squad set to participate in the Four Nations tournament scheduled from 21st March to 26th March 2024 at the Bingu National Stadium in Lilongwe.

 Mabedi announced the squad during a press briefing earlier today.

Despite some players being late to join the camp during the first week, Mabedi stated that the preparations for the tournament are going well.

“We have had hectic preparations, as we all know that teams are preparing for the new season to come. In the first week, we had six players, then we dropped to five, and this week we have had 22-23 players. So far, preparations are going well. We have no injuries, and all players are available. We expect players from Might Mukuru Wanderers to join the camp by 15th March,” he explained.

Mabedi has also recalled flames striker Gabadhinho Mhango, who was dropped from the squad in previous matches after he failed to submit a recovery training session. The squad also includes players from Europe and up-and-coming youngsters.

According to Mabedi, he wants to use this tournament as an opportunity to assess players for future competitions.

“We are taking this tournament as an opportunity to test the players because this is the only opportunity we can assess them, and we have hope that they take the opportunity seriously. We may also see new faces that we have not seen before, especially from Europe and other up-and-coming youngsters,” explained Mabedi.

The Four Nations tournament involves Malawi, Zambia, Kenya, and Zimbabwe. All countries have named their squads for the tournament. Malawi will kick off the tournament with a game against Zimbabwe on Saturday, 23rd March 2024, at the Bingu National Stadium in Lilongwe.



Innocent Nyasulu (FCB Nyasa Big Bullets), George Chikooka (Silver Strikers) and Brighton Muthali (Black Leopards).


Mark Lameck, Nixson Mwase (Silver Strikers) Daniel Chimbalanga (MAFCO), Stanley Sanudi, Lawrence Chaziya, Alex Kambilinya (Mighty Mukuru Wanderers), Yamikani Mulongeni, Blessings Mpokela (FCB Nyasa Big Bullets), Joseph Balakasi (Dedza Dynamos), Jubril Okedina(Cambridge United) and Dennis Chembezi( Al-Qasim Sports Club).


Chrispin Mapemba, Lloyd Aaron, Patrick Mwaungulu, Lanjesi Nkhoma, Chikumbutso Salima(FCB Nyasa Big Bullets), Wisdom Mpinganjira( Mighty Mukuru Wanderers), Wongani Lungu( Ekwendeni Hammers) Patrick Macheso( Silver Strikers) John Banda ( UD Songo) Robert Saizi(Zanaco), Takondwa maosa( Brentwood Town FC) and Lloyd Njaliwa( Costa do Sol)


Ephraim Kondowe (FCB Nyasa Big Bullets), Gabadihno Mhango (Moroka Swallows), Chawanagwa Kaonga (Zanaco), Chifundo Mphasi (Kabwe Warriors) and Henri Kumwenda (Butler Men’soccer)




Event Categories

  • No categories