Home » News » THE BLANTYRE 42.195 KM RACE SET FOR 30TH JULY 2023


May 23, 2023 | News

The 5th edition of the Blantyre 42.195 km race will take place on Sunday 30th July, 2023 with a new route which will see athletes going around three times a 14 km loop in order to finish the race.

The announcement has been made by Mrs. Helena Tasosa Mpinganjira who is the Chairperson of the Sports Development committee of Malawi National Council of Sports during a press briefing in Blantyre which was held at MNCS offices.

‘’ For those willing to participate registration fee is K20,000 and its now open and will close on 25 July, but late entries will be allowed up to 28th of July before 5pm and any late entry will attract a payment of K30,000. Registration is open to Malawian residence and everyone who is currently residing in Malawi this year race is not open to international athletes’’

‘’ With the new route we expect spectators to cheer the athletes while they are running, that is why we have decided not to include the relay races this year’’ explained Tasosa

On his part Chairperson of the main organizing committee Mr. Chifundo Tethani called upon the private sector and government parastatals to come in and partner MNCS in conducting the event.

‘’There is a very big opportunity for sponsors to be visible during the race, so that is why we are calling out to sponsors to come and partner with us so that they can showcase their businesses and support athletics in Malawi’’ explained Tethani

The winners of the 5th edition will walk away with K1.5million in both men and women category, while K1million for second position and K500,000 for third position and there will be consolation prizes from position 4 up to 10.

Athletes can register for the race by paying through National Bank account number 1802283 or visit MNCS office in Blantyre opposite Kamuzu stadium, the Blantyre youth center, Kamuzu Institute for Sports and at Mzuzu MNCS offices (OPC building).

Last year Nalicy Chirwa and Austin Sukali emerged as champions in the women and men category respectively